He apologised for his celebration following the game, however the FA were always likely to charge the German, who has now accepted an £8,000 fine from English football's governing body.
“Absolutely OK, to be honest. I couldn’t avoid it obviously, but that’s what the rules are for, and if you break rules you have to be fined for it,” he said.
“That’s what happened, no problem with that, it’s completely normal.
“The last time I did it was around 14 years ago. I’m not that quick any more. It will be fine.”
He was questioned whether he would do it again, to which he emphatically replied: “Not in the next 14 years!
“I didn’t want to do it and I can say it won’t happen again. It was not on my radar that it was still possible.
“We make mistakes, but usually I learn from it. At least over a long period.
“It’s not a massive mistake. If there was no rule against it we, as managers, would constantly celebrate on the pitch and you would say ‘that’s nice’ (and) the whole bench would run there.
“I don’t think anybody thought it’s massively wrong or whatever, not even the ref, they were probably surprised themselves.
“There’s nothing to say actually. It’s a fine, I pay it. Let’s carry on.”