Trent Alexander-Arnold earns double nomination as four Liverpool players up for PFA awards

LFC Globe
5th September 2020
Trent Alexander-Arnold

earned both a PFA Players' Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year nomination with three other Liverpool players earning recognition for their efforts.

Following a historic season where Liverpool breezed their way to their first league title in over thirty years, the accolades keep coming for this special group of players.

Alexander-Arnold - who was named the 's Young Player of the Year earlier this summer - is on the shortlist to now clinch the PFA Players' Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year after breaking his own assist record for a defender with 13 assists last season.

Joining the 21-year-old on the shortlist is Liverpool captain , who won the FWA Footballer of the Year this year and earns his first-ever nomination for the PFA Players' Player of the Year award after leading the Reds to title glory.

Last year's winner, , is nominated for the second year in a row alongside winger Sadio Mane, who too received a nomination last season.

The other two nominees are teammates Kevin De Bruyne and former red .

De Bruyne, who won the Premier League Player of the Year award for the 2019/20 campaign, is the bookies' favourite following a stellar season, having scored 13 goals and contributed a Premier League joint-record 20 assists.

A Liverpool player has won the top award for the last two years and, should De Bruyne , it would surprisingly be the first time a Manchester City player has won the award despite City winning four league titles in the past decade.

Trent Alexander-Arnold

Image: Liverpool FC via Getty Images

The PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist, headlined by Alexander-Arnold, features an all-English cast, demonstrating the amount of young talent the Premier League contains and the next generation of the English national team.

Should Alexander-Arnold be named Young Player of the Year, it'll be the first time since 2000/01 that a Liverpool player picks up the award, with former Reds captain the last winner from the club.

Ian Rush, Robbie Fowler and Michael Owen are former Reds who have previously won the award, and it goes to show the company he will be rubbing shoulders with, should he win.

All nominees of the Young Player of the Year award came from the academies of the clubs they play for, a sign to future young players that they can break through and make an impact at big clubs.

Joining Alexander-Arnold on the shortlist is duo Tammy Abraham and Mason Mount, 's Mason Greenwood and Marcus Rashford and 's Bukayo Saka.

It's been a stunning season for all those associated with Liverpool FC, and these could be the cherry on top. The winner of both awards will be crowned on Tuesday 8 September.

Share This Article
Live Liverpool FC News
cross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram